137 Old Ridgefield Road Wilton, CT 06897 Tel: 203-762-3950

Biography/History

AP Photo Archive: Electronic library containing over one million Associated Press images dating back to 1826, more than 4,500 hours of searchable audio files dating back to the 1920s, and a database containing graphics, maps, illustrations and logos prepared by Associated Press graphic artists. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards. ]

Biography and Genealogy Master Index: ICONN database that indexes current sources, as well as important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed now exceeds 12 million. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Biography Resource Center: ICONN database that contains more than 400,000 biographies on nearly 315,000 people from around the world and throughout history. It combines more than 250 full-text periodicals. Contains Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, and Writers Directory. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Discovering Collection: ICONN database containing information about People, Places, and Events–history, biography, literature, social studies, and science. Audience: Middle School and up. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Hartford Courant Historical: ICONN database (ProQuest) containing full-text coverage of the Hartford Courant Historical (1764-1922). [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

HeritageQuest: Research resource for family history and American culture. Includes U.S. Federal census records and the UMI Genealogy and Local History collection. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.  ]

History Resource Center: U.S.: ICONN database from Gale containing a complete overview of U.S. history covering the most studied events, issues and current information.  It combines original materials from Primary Source Microfilm’s digital archives, including documents, monographs, pamphlets, first-person, accounts; Encyclopedic articles built from the foundation of MacMillan Reference USA and Charles Scribner’s Sons information, as well as other Gale proprietary content; Full-text periodicals and scholarly history journals; a historical bibliography, links to digitized special collections; audio and video clips of historic speeches and events.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards. ]

History Resource Center: World: ICONN database from Gale containing a comprehensive collection of award-winning reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history. From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, world history curricula is supported with over 1,800 primary sources, over 27 reference titles and more than 110 journals. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards. ]