Health/Medicine/Science — Wilton Library
137 Old Ridgefield Road Wilton, CT 06897 Tel: 203-762-3950

Health/Medicine/Science

To see which magazines are available in the library or in the many databases we subscribe to, you can use our periodical title searches.

Folio IS:  Folio Internet Service allows real time access to up-to-the-minute Physician Information.  It provides online interaction with the Folio Census Database of Physicians and Healthcare Facilities for the New England states (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut), New York, New Jersey and Ohio. Contains 150,000 physicians and 20,000 healthcare facilities.  [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards -- if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]

GreenFILE: This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Content includes full text for more than 9,100 records. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Health Care Directory: Search through 855,000 physicians and dentists anywhere in the U.S. After you have entered your barcode number, click on “HealthCare” in the list of databases. Search by name, geography, age, gender, state of license, medical school attended, and more. (Please note: when you click on the above link you should be asked for your library barcode number; if, instead, you are asked for a username and password, please call technical support at ReferenceUSA directly — 1-800-808-1113. There are a number of things which could cause this problem, and they can help you with them.)  [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards -- if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]

Science Reference Center: Topics include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.  Content includes 195 full-text science periodicals; 732 full-text science reference books, 23 full-text science encyclopedias; 2,567 full-text, full-length biographies, 37,260 science images, and 519 science videos.  [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]