Students — Wilton Library
137 Old Ridgefield Road Wilton, CT 06897 Tel: 203-762-3950

Students

Connecticut Digital Collections:  ICONN database offering Connecticut History Online, a digital collection of over 15,000 digital primary sources; Connecticut State Library’s Digital Collections, a collection of materials from the Connecticut State Library and the State Archives, including court documents, law and legal materials, photographs, farms, roads, bridges and more; Newspapers of Connecticut, a sample collection of historical newspapers covering the various regions, perspectives and topics of the Civil War era in Connecticut, including the Connecticut War Record from 1863-1865; and Treasures of Connecticut Libraries, a collection of more than 1,500 items from Connecticut libraries and partnering institutions, including Civil War letters, historical photographs, postcards, pamphlets, films and more.  [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

EBSCO MasterFILE Elite: EBSCO general magazine index. Contains full text for more than 350 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and more. Also offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 500 periodicals. Includes over 3,000 charts, tables, and graphs, coverage of the CIA World Factbook, and Essential Documents in American History. Periodicals include, Advertising Age, American Economist, American Family Physician, American Fitness, Black Enterprise, Business Week, Canadian Banker, Canadian Geographic, Christianity Today, ComputerWorld, Discover, Economist, Forbes, Foreign Affairs, Good Housekeeping, Guitar Player, Hispanic Times Magazine, and more. Full text files go back to January, 1985; indexing and abstracts go back to January of 1984. [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards--if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]

History Reference Center:  ICONN database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books.  It includes nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 80,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 1,990 full-text reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, nearly 46,000 historical photos and maps and more than 80 hours of historical video.  [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

ICONN Databases:  Direct link to all ICONN databases.  [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

ICONN OneSearch:  [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Kids Search:  ICONN database with interface designed for students in grades K through 8.  Provides elementary school students with an easy-to-use, graphically appealing interface they can use to search their EBSCO databases.

MAS Ultra–School Edition: Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and much more.  Includes America’s Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil WarTimes, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II and more.  All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator.  Content includes nearly 500 full-text magazines; more than 360 reference books; over 79,700 biographies; over 81,900 primary source documents; and over 960,000 photos, maps & flags, and color PDFs.  [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Middle Search Plus: This database contains full text for a variety of popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books such as the Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia, New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals, and thousands of photos, maps, and flags. Content includes more than 150 full-text periodicals; over 131,000 full-text biographies; and over 81,900 primary source documents. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Nonfiction Book Collection–Elementary Schools:  ICONN database containing informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 1,300 popular nonfiction books.  The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, and more.  Subjects include adventure, biographies, careers, civics, disabilities, ethicity, health, history, life skills, music, science, sports, and technology.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Nonfiction Book Collection–High School:  ICONN database containing informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 2,700 popular nonfiction books.  The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, and civics.  Subjects include adventure, biographies, careers, civics, disabilities, ethnicity, health, history, life skills, science, sports, technology, and women.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Nonfiction Book Collection–Middle Schools:  ICONN database containing informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,200 popular nonfiction books.  The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, and technology.  Subjects include adventure, biographies, careers, civics, disabilities, ethnicity, health, history, life skills, science, sports, technology, and women.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents, coupled with powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.

Primary Search:  ICONN database containing full-text for more than 80 of the most popular elementary school magazines.  Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator.  Features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, The Encyclopedia of Animals, and American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.  [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Searchasaurus:  ICONN database for elementary school students.  Search interface provides access to information from magazines and books on many topics.  Contains more than 80 full-text elementary school magazines.  Includes Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia, American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, Encyclopedia of Animals.  Provides thousands of photos, maps, and flags.  Lexile reading levels assigned to full-text articles.  containing full-text for more than 80 of the most popular elementary school magazines.  Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator.  Features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, The Encyclopedia of Animals, and American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Student Research Center:  ICONN database is designed for students in grades 6 through 12.  Students can easily pre-determine which content sources (magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, etc.) will be included in their search.     [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

TOPICsearch:  ICONN database in which students researchers, teachers, and librarians can explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.  Content includes biographies, book reviews, government information, pamphlets, periodicals, public opinion polls, and international newspapers.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Students doing research for school projects might also want to check out our school project pages for K-5 and 6-12.